What are the rules of golf concerning being on the green when your opponent’s ball goes into the water hazard, and he elects to play it from where it lies?

In golf, the term “green” refers to the area of short grass surrounding the hole. The green is where the flagstick is placed and where the cup is cut into the turf. It is also the area from which players putt.

There are a few different rules that come into play when a ball goes into a water hazard on the green. First, if the ball hits the flagstick and then goes into the water, it is considered to be lost and the player must take a penalty stroke. Second, if a ball hits any part of the green and then bounces into the water, it is considered to be in play and can be played from where it lies or from within two club-lengths of where it entered the hazard, but no closer to the hole.